Beyond The Festival of Quilts

I’d hoped that 2020 would be the first year I’d attend The Festival of Quilts, billed as Europe’s premier Quilt show and held annually at the Birmingham NEC. Unfortunately, like all these kind of things that have been cancelled and postponed now, that’s just not possible. Fortunately, they’re running a virtual version of the festival instead.

Called Beyond The Festival of Quilts, over 4 days between 30th July and 2nd August 2020 there’s a whole host of virtual workshops and masterclasses as well as galleries and a shopping hub to have a nose around.

I haven’t booked any of the masterclasses, although they seem to be fairly reasonably priced at £15 each. None of the subjects particularly interested me, although I do find Jennie Rayment an entertaining font of knowledge when it comes to quilting, so may yet book her class (although poss a tad advanced!).

Jennie Rayment Masterclass at Beyond The Festival of Quilts
Jenny Rayment’s class at Beyond The Festival Of Quilts

I’m planning to pop along for some of the lectures and workshops if they’re not booked up and keen to see Stuart Hillard present the winners of the virtual quilt competition that was being run by The Festival of Quilts this year. I believe the ceremony takes place at 12pm on Tuesday 30th July.

Stuart Hillard to present the winner of the Virtual Quilt competition
Stuart Hillard to present the winner of the Virtual Quilt competition

I’m looking forward to seeing the winning entries and having a look around the dynamic galleries too.

The Festival Of Quilts Galleries
The Festival Of Quilts Galleries

It wont be the same as being there in person, and my husband and children are naturally gutted not to be dragged around there, but I’ll take it is a good second given all that’s going on right now and will be sure to make the pilgrimage in 2021.


Posted

in

by

Comments

Leave a comment